Sections

Weather Forecast

Close

Committee chairs named for 2010 Farm Technology Days

The countdown is on for organizers of the 2010 Farm Technology Days, as the event will be coming to Pierce County in two years.

Farm Technology Days, Inc., a non-profit organization, has held Wisconsin Farm Technology Days (WFTD) since 1954. It's billed as the "largest outdoor show moving from county to county in North America." The Roger and Beverly Peterson farm, located on Hwy. 29 outside of River Falls, will host the 2010 edition, scheduled for July 20-22, 2010.

An estimated 1,400-1,600 volunteers is needed to help serve on the 21 committees. A brief description of each committee, along with the committee chairperson(s) and their contact information, is as follows:

Admissions--A three-to-six month window of tasks prior to the show along with collecting admission and checking passes. Co-chairs, Ann Webb - awebb@co.pierce.wi.us, Mary Beth Williams -425-5323.

Apparel, handle the inventory and sale of apparel along with making apparel recommendations to the Executive Committee. No co-chairs have been named.

Arts and Crafts--Plan arts and crafts tent contribution to show, procure vendors locally and from previous shows. Lisa Coyne - lmcoyne@wwt.net, Kristi Richardson - richjk@svtel.net.

Conservation--Plan conservation tent contribution to show, consider or plan outside tent attractions. Rod Webb - Rodney.webb@co.pierce.wi.us

Education--Contribute direction to the planning process and participate in the planning of any non-show hour educational activities. Lee Milligan - lee.milligan@ces.uwex.edu.

EMS/Safety--Manage and staff mobile command center. Jeff Rixmann - jrixmann@rfaas.org, Gary Brown - gbrown@co.pierce.wi.us.

For more please read the July 16 print version of the Herald.

Jason Schulte

Jason Schulte is a reporter for the New Richmond News since February 2015. Prior to that he spent eight years at the Pierce County Herald in Ellsworth. His duties with the News will include covering news out of Hammond and Roberts along with action from St. Croix County court system. He lives in Roberts. 

(715) 243-7767 x243
Advertisement