Weather Forecast


MINNESOTA NEWS ROUNDUP: Obama declares 18 counties as a federal disaster area

Email News Alerts

President Obama has declared a federal disaster area in 18 Minnesota counties hit by storms and flash flooding last month, making federal money available to cities and counties to repair roads, bridges, parks and public buildings. The state did not request disaster assistance for *individuals* affected by the storms. The state Public Safety Department's Doug Neville says there are clear thresholds for public assistance and Minnesota met them -- but it's different for individual assistance.


Get the full story
Subscribe or Log In

Jason Schulte
Jason Schulte is a reporter for the New Richmond News since February 2015. Prior to that he spent eight years at the Pierce County Herald in Ellsworth. His duties with the News will include covering news out of Hammond and Roberts along with action from St. Croix County court system. He lives in Roberts with his wife and two daughters. 
(715) 243-7767 x243