Sections

Weather Forecast

Close
Advertisement

What is that glob of bees in my garden?

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts

outdoors Ellsworth, 54011

Ellsworth Wisconsin 126 S. Chestnut St. 54011

A swarm of honeybees is a familiar sight in the spring and summer. There is no telling where a swarm might land. It could land on any convenient resting place: a bush, a tree branch, a lamppost, or patio furniture. Honeybee swarms cluster together for protection and warmth in a temporary resting place. In the center of this ball is their queen. The swarming bees do not stay there long. As soon as scout bees find a nice suitable and protected home, the swarm will be up and away.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Honey bee swarms are not dangerous under most circumstances. Swarming honey bees feed prior to swarming, reducing their ability to sting. Further, bees away from their nest or hive (offspring and food stores) are less defensive and are unlikely to sting unless provoked.

In most situations when a honey bee swarm is found on a tree, shrub or house you do not need to do anything.

The cluster should not be disturbed and will not need to be moved unless it is in a highly traveled public area.

Swarms are temporary and the bees will move on if you patiently ignore them.

If you would like it removed St. Croix County Beekeepers Association volunteers will gather the swarm and relocate it. They will not remove embedded or permanent dwelling structures where honeybees have set up home.

The following members from the St. Croix County Beekeepers Association have volunteered to capture honeybee swarms:

Paul VanDenMeerendonk, vanden@baldwin-telecom.net 715-781-0640 HUDSON

Bruce Schultz, mvp1@frontiernet.ne 715-781-0693 NEW RICHMOND

Dan Klasen, klasen@baldwin-telecom.net 651-329-5694 HUDSON

Stew Erickson, stew@aggas.com 715-386-3565 cell 651-503-7706 HUDSON

Pete Beurskens, edilbleacres@wildblue.net

715-273-4534 BAY CITY & ELLSWORTH

Brad Mogen, brad.d.mogen@gmail.com 715-425-8073 cell 651-303-9028 RIVER FALLS

Jerry Rodewald, jrodewald@dishup.us cell 715-307-1774 RIVER FALLS

Dale Wolf, dwhoney@baldwin-telecom.net 715-684-2095 BALDWIN

Dave Viau, dviau@cltcom.net 715-263-2171 CLEAR LAKE

Andy Rineck,rineckan@gmail.com

651-269-7199 HUDSON

Mitchel Wayne, mjwayne2@mmm.com

715-495-0679 RIVERFALLS

Bernie Knutson, knutson.bernie@yahoo.com

715-688-6833 MARTELL and SPRING VALLEY

Ryan Luepke, ryanluepke@yahoo.com

612-437-8014 GLENWOOD CITY

Dave Lambert, alambert1957@yahoo.com

612-805-6323 ROBERTS

BROCK CLARE, claresbackflow@hotmail.com

715-977-1801, SPRING VALLEY and PLUM CITY

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
randomness