Weather Forecast


Racing round-up: Camera injures fans at Coca-Cola 600, Kanaan wins ar Indy

CHARLOTTE - A falling television cable injured 10 fans and seemed to damage at least two of the cars at the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway last night.

Seven of those fans were treated and released on the site, with three others taken to a hospital for observation. The race was delayed 40 minutes.

When it resumed, Kevin Harvick claimed his second Sprint Cup victory of the season. He pulled away over the last 10 laps to beat Kasey Kahne who had led 161 of the 400 laps. Paul Menard had the best finish for a Wisconsin driver, finishing 13th. Matt Kenseth was two slots behind him. Danica Patrick wound up 29th and Travis Kvapil was 40th.


After years of heartache and misery at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Brazilian Tony Kanaan can finally be called an Indianapolis 500 champion.

In a thrilling 500-mile race that featured a smashing record of 68 lead changes among 14 drivers and moved at a blistering pace of 187.433 mph, Tony Kanaan pulled ahead of Ryan Hunter-Reay for the lead after a restart with just three laps to go. Dario Franchitti, who won this prestigious event for the third time one year ago, crashed into the Turn 1 wall following the restart, which ended the race under caution and allowed Kanaan to claim his first Indy 500 victory in his 12th attempt. Ironically, Kanaan won the race after starting 12th.

Prior to his win on Sunday, Kanaan had led a total of 221 laps at Indy, but had come up short of taking the checkered flag for this race numerous times. Kanaan finished second in 2004, the same year he won his first IndyCar Series championship, and placed third in 2003 and 2012. He started on the pole for the 2005 event.

Kanaan's last victory in the series came in June 2010 at Iowa Speedway (46 races ago).

The previous record for most lead changes in the Indy 500 was 34, set last year, which marked the inaugural season for the DW12 Indy car.

Kanaan's win was a hugely popular one, as many in the crowd of more than 200,000 at this famed 2.5-mile speedway cheered loudly for him while he made his final lap around here under caution. He led a total of 34 laps.


Kyle Busch won for the sixth time in nine Nationwide Series races, taking the History 300 at Charlotte Saturday. He edged Kasey Kahne for the victory, his record-setting 57th in the series. The only Wisconsin driver in the field was Cambridge native Matt Kenseth. He finished eighth.