Weather Forecast


Schachtner defeats Jarchow in special election

State Track and Field meet starts today at La Crosse

LA CROSSE -- The 118th annual Wisconsin state high school track meet begins today at UW-La Crosse.

In the boys' competition, Brookfield East is a two-time champion in Division 1 - and East senior Brad Johnson is back to defend his title in the 800-meters. Carl Hirsch of Brookfield Central is the returning Division 1 champ in both the 1600 and 3200-meter runs.

Belleville/New Glarus won the boys' Division 2 crown a year ago. Cody Zaeske of East Troy is the defending champ in both the long jump and the triple jump. Edgar is the defending Division 3 titlist. Jake Wiedemeier of Crivitz goes for his third gold medal in the pole vault.

On the girls' side, Milwaukee Riverside is the returning Division 1 champion, and La Crosse Aquinas has the D-2 crown. Edgar goes for its fourth straight girls' team title in Division 3. Bonnie Draxler of Wrightstown hopes to win her third individual gold medals in both the pole vault and the 400-meters. Kennedy Blahnik of Algoma is competing for her third state crowns in both the shot-put and discus. Alex Flucke of Ashwaubenon will try to win her third title in the pole vault. In the wheelchair division, Dani Ebben of Fort Atkinson goes for her third championship in the girls' 400-meters, and her second titles in both the 800 and the shot put.

The state meet runs through tomorrow at Veterans Memorial Stadium.