Weather Forecast


Primary results for area Assembly district races

The races for the area's Assembly districts are now set following Tuesday's primary election.

Rep. Kitty Rhoades easily fended off a challenger in the District 30 Republican primary Tuesday. She won with 87 percent of the vote; Bob Hughes received 376 votes to her 2,428.

Rhoades, of Hudson, who serves on the Wisconsin Legislature's powerful Joint Finance Committee, will face Democrat Sarah Bruch in the general election.

The 30th District includes Clifton, Diamond Bluff, Ellsworth, Oak Grove, Prescott, Trenton and Trimbelle in Pierce County and a portion of St. Croix County.

Chris Danou and Dave Hegenbarth emerged in the hotly contested race to replace Barbara Gronemus, who is retiring after three decades in the Assembly serving District 91.

Two third-party candidates also will be running.

Ted Burleson of Fountain City is a Libertarian, and Paul Beseler of Ettrick, Wis., is the Independent candidate.

The Democrat in the race, Danou, is president of the Onalaska Professional Police Association. He beat out five other candidates with 34 percent of the vote.

Danou, a Trempealeau resident, told the R-E he is running for office for the same reasons he is a police officer.

"I believe deeply in service to my community," he said. "I stand for the values of freedom, opportunity and security for all."

Hegenbarth will run on the Republican ticket. He beat out David Anderson with 64 percent of the vote. From Galesville, Wis., he writes on his Web site that his viewpoint is fairly simple: He believes people have become too dependent on government.

"The simple virtue of self-reliance has taken a back seat to a culture of entitlement and dependence," he said.

The 91st District includes Martell, Ellsworth, El Paso, Hartland, Isabelle, Maiden Rock, Salem, Union, Bay City, Maiden Rock and Plum City in Pierce County as well as the counties of Buffalo, Jackson and Pepin.

In the 29th Assembly District Democratic primary race Chris Buckel won and will face off against incumbent John Murtha, R-Baldwin.

Finally, in the Republican primary for the 93rd Assembly District Darcy Fields defeated John Schiess and will take on one-term incumbent Jeff Smith, D-Eau Claire.