Weather Forecast


Barkla elected county board chair

Paul Barkla, who has served on the Pierce County Board since April 2004, was elected its chairman when the board met to reorganize last week.

Barkla, 73, River Falls, has worked for several labor unions as a researcher, wrote training manuals, and has been an educator and business agent. He has also been active with various health, environmental and political organizations, and worked as a legislative assistant for two U.S. senators and two congressmen.

Since first being elected to the county board, Barkla has chaired the Land Management Committee and served as vice chairman of the Law Enforcement Committee. He has served on the Board of Health, Council on Aging, and on the Building, Human Services, Long Term Support, Park and Solid Waste Management committees.

No other candidates were nominated for the chairmanship. Barkla succeeds Ron Anderson, Beldenville, who did not seek re-election to the board.

Her fellow supervisors elected Kirstin Schilling, 37, Spring Valley, as the board's first vice chair.

Schilling, who operates Asphalt Maintenance and Paving with her husband and describes herself as "a fulltime mom," has been on the board since April 2002.

She was previously second vice chairperson. Her earlier committee assignments include Finance and Personnel Committee, Human Services Board, Emergency Medical Services, Library Board, Fair Committee and Building Committee.

Jerry Kosin, who has been on the board since 1998, was elected second vice chairman.

Kosin, who is also chairman of the Town of Oak Grove, has most recently served on these county board committees: Agriculture and Extension, Building, Fair, Land Conservation, Shooting Range, Solid Waste Management and Veterans Service.

The 17 county supervisors spent a good part of the morning Tuesday electing new committees with these results:

--Finance and Personnel: Rich Purdy, John Kucinski, Ron Lockwood, Bill Gilles and Jeff Holst. Barkla and Schilling automatically serve on this committee.

--Highway: Mike Larson, Chip Simones, Jim Camery, Kosin and Dan Reis.

--Agriculture and Extension Education: Gilles, Mel Pittman, Purdy, Kosin and Don Rohl.

--Human Services: Pam Sans, Ben Plunkett and Reis. Gilles and Purdy are already members of this committee.

--Land Management: Barkla, Holst and Don Nellessen. Citizen members are Pat Harrington and Eric Sanden.

--Law Enforcement: Sans, Simones, Plunkett, Larson and Kucinski.