Weather Forecast


Campaigns begin for state, county offices

Nomination papers are being circulated by candidates running for some county offices, district attorney, state assembly, some state senate seats and congress.

Prospective candidates have from now to July 8 to collect the signatures they need to have their names on ballots for the General Election to be held Tuesday, Nov. 4. Where necessary, primary elections will be held Tuesday, Sept. 9.

District attorneys

Pierce County District Attorney John O'Boyle, a Democrat, is seeking re-election. He has been DA since 1992.

Although they are elected by the voters in their individual counties, district attorneys are state employees and their pay is determined by state law according to the population of their county. The current annual salary for district attorney in Pierce County is $104,872.

District attorneys are elected to two-year terms. A DA candidate must be licensed to practice law in Wisconsin and live in the county from which he or she was elected.

DA candidates must collect 200 to 400 signatures on nomination papers and submit those along with a declaration of candidacy form to the state Elections Board by 5 p.m. Tuesday, July 8.

County offices

County clerks, treasurers and registers of deeds will also be elected in November--and for the first time, these officers will be elected to four-year terms.

Candidates must file with the county clerk and collect 200 to 400 signatures on their nomination papers. The deadline to submit nomination papers is 5 p.m. Tuesday, July 8.

New salaries for these three county positions go into effect Jan. 1, 2009. In Pierce County, the salaries will be $51,374 for 2009; $52,658 for 2010; $53,974 for 2011; and $55,323 for 2012.

State senate

In Senate District 10, Alison Page, River Falls, a Democrat, is challenging Sheila Harsdorf, a Republican, also of River Falls.

District 10 includes all or parts of St. Croix, Pierce, Polk and Burnett counties.

Senate candidates need 400 to 800 signatures on their nomination papers.

State legislators are eligible for an annual salary of $47,413 per year. They are also eligible for an allowance of up to $88 a day for living expenses for each day spent in Madison if they certify they have established temporary residence at the capital. Those who don't establish temporary residence are entitled to $44 a day. All members are also reimbursed for one weekly round trip from their home.


All 99 seats in the Wisconsin Assembly are up for election.

Locally, those are the District 28 seat now held by Ann Hraychuck, Balsam Lake; the District 29 seat held by John Murtha, Baldwin; the District 30 seat held by Kitty Rhoades, Hudson; and the District 91 seat held by Barbara Gronemus, Whitehall.

Gronemus, a Democrat who has served in the assembly for 26 years, has announced her retirement.

So far, nine candidates--five Democrats, three Republicans and an Independent--have registered their candidacy for District 91, which includes the Pierce County Towns of Martell, El Paso, Ellsworth, Hartland, Salem, Union, Isabelle and Maiden Rock.

Current District 91 candidates are Margaret Baecker, Independence; Chris Danou, Trempealeau; Jeff Hauser, Whitehall; John Kimmel, Arcadia; James Kraft, Durand; David Anderson, Whitehall; Tom Bice, Trempealeau; David Hegenbarth, Galesville; and Paul Beseler, Ettrick.

Registered candidates for the District 28 seat are Republicans Kent Muschinske of Dresser and Lauren Stephens of Somerset.

Registered candidates for District 29 are Murtha, a Republican, and these challengers: Chris Buckel, Hammond, a Democrat; L. John Peters, Menomonie, a Democrat; and Craig Mohn, Woodville, Libertarian.

In District 30, Democrat Sarah A. Bruch, Hudson, has announced she will challenge Republican Rhoades, who has served in the assembly for 10 years.

Assembly candidates need 200 to 400 signatures on their nomination papers.


Ron Kind, a Democrat from La Crosse who has represented the Third District since 1996, is being challenged by Ben Olson, a Libertarian from Wisconsin Dells.

At this point, no other candidates for the seat are registered with the Elections Board.

The Third Congressional District includes 19 counties in Western Wisconsin along the Mississippi River. The district stretches from the Illinois border on the south through St. Croix County on the north.

Members of Congress serve two-year terms.

For more information about state elections, go to this website: