Weather Forecast


Ptacek's named Prescott Chamber Organization of the Year

Award winners from the Prescott Chamber of Commerce 35th annual dinner, held January 28 at the Ridgetop. Pictured from left to right are: Debbie Davis as Educator of the Year; Lisa Johnson as Ambassador of the Year; Maria Franco as Citizen of the Year; Israel Haas as Member of the Year; Pat, Mike and Nick Ptacek and Rochelle Wrisky for Organization of the Year and Jerry Killian receiving a Special Recognition Award (Photo submitted).

PRESCOTT – Ptacek’s IGA was honored as the Prescott Chamber of Commerce Organization of the Year during the Chamber’s 35th annual dinner Tuesday night at the Ridgetop.

It’s the third time the grocery store has received an award from the Chamber. They were selected for their Labor Day event, which raised money for the new park that will be built in Prescott. It’s been one of the many examples they have given back to the City of Prescott. They previously won Business of the Year back in 1992 and 2003.

Lisa Johnson from Prescott Insurance was selected as Ambassador of the Year. It’s the second year in a row she won an award as she was named Member of the Year for 2012. Johnson is a member of the Annual Dinner committee, Burger Battle and helped with the calendar raffle.  

Maria Franco from Cernohous Chevrolet was named Citizen of the Year for her work in helping out the schools and the church. Israel Haas from Torrent Church was named Member of the Year for his Chamber involvement (being an Ambassador, attending meeting, helping out at events). Haas also served as the announcer for the Annual Dinner.

Debbie Davis, a second grade teacher at Malone Elementary was Educator of the Year. Trisha Huber, Chamber Coordinator, explained she was selected due to her work making second grade a positive experience for all her students. “Students have a soft spot for her years after having her for their teacher,” Huber added. 

Finally, Jerry Killian, former Public Works Director for the City, received a special recognition award. Killian retired last year after working 45 years for the City. Among Killian’s many tasks was getting the City ready for Prescott Daze and helping the Welcome and Heritage Center run smoothly.      

Lars Loberg and Loni Ueker were the big prize winners for getting a Kindle Fire and Bose speakers respectively. One hundred eighteen guests attended with the theme “Beating the Winter Blues Beach Party”.

The 2014 Officers were also named: David Schmidt from First National Bank is President, Rashel Bowes from River Road Auto is Vice President, Ron Murphy from Cernohous Chevrolet is Secretary and Al Schneider from Torrent Church is Treasurer.

Jason Schulte

Jason Schulte is a reporter for the New Richmond News since February 2015. Prior to that he spent eight years at the Pierce County Herald in Ellsworth. His duties with the News will include covering news out of Hammond and Roberts along with action from St. Croix County court system. He lives in Roberts. 

(715) 243-7767 x243