Weather Forecast


Finalists announced for new Prescott police chief

The Prescott Police Commission has chosen two finalists for chief of police to succeed Mike R. Bondarenko, who is retiring in February. The finalists were chosen at the commission's meeting Dec. 16. They are Sharon Verges and Gary Krutke.

Verges is the chief of police in the village of Thorp in Clark County. She has 19 years law enforcement experience and previously served as a police officer and sergeant in Horicon and a police officer and lieutenant in Phillips.

Krutke is a patrol sergeant in Prescott and has served the city since 2000. He is the former police chief of police in Taylor and Fairchild.

Verges and Krutke will have interviews before the commission Jan. 4. It is expected the new chief will be named by the Police Commission by Jan. 13 and will take office Feb. 10 during a swearing-in ceremony before the City Council.

Chief Bondarenko will retire on Feb. 18 after 37 1/2 years in law enforcement. He has been chief in Prescott since 2006.

Jason Schulte

Jason Schulte is a reporter for the New Richmond News since February 2015. Prior to that he spent eight years at the Pierce County Herald in Ellsworth. His duties with the News will include covering news out of Hammond and Roberts along with action from St. Croix County court system. He lives in Roberts. 

(715) 243-7767 x243