Weather Forecast


Area teachers among Kohl Foundation Fellows

The selection committee for the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship Program has announced recipients of the 2013 Herb Kohl Foundation awards for students and teachers.

The $1,000 awards are being made to 100 teachers, their schools and 187 graduating high school students.

Included among Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Fellows from this area are:

--Jason Brazzale, Prescott, Prescott High School, Prescott;

--Ned Hilleren, Maiden Rock, Spring Valley Middle/High School, Spring Valley;

--Gregory Lenn, Pine Island, Malone Elementary School, Prescott;

--Jan Pavloski, Maiden Rock, Ellsworth Middle School, Ellsworth.

Fellowship recipients are chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and for their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.

Each Fellow's school will also receive a $1,000 grant.

Letters notifying recipients of the award were mailed on March 1. Regional recognition luncheons honoring the recipients will be held. A reception at noon and luncheon at 12:30 p.m. is planned for the event in this area, on Sunday, April 14, at Chippewa Falls High School, 735 Terrill St., Chippewa Falls.