Weather Forecast


Salaries for schools' administration listed

The following are administration salaries for schools in Pierce County for the 2013-2014 year. Salaries were obtained through an Open Records request. 


Barry Cain Superintendent $128,054

Paul Uhren Director of Teaching and Learning $99,354

Cain said Uhren has multiple functions, including the district’s curriculum director, the person in charge of the new teacher evaluation system, students and staff software development and maintenance, and summer school operations.

Mark Stoesz Senior High School Principal $101,528

Jon Dodge Senior High School Assistant Principal $80,000

Pete Nusbaum Middle School Principal $92,000

Tim Brunner Middle School Assistant Principal $79,458

Mary Zimmerman Prairie View/Lindgren Principal/Special Ed Director $94,594

John Groh Hillcrest Principal $89,760

Salaries for the 2014-15 year have not yet been set.


Paul Blanford 4K-12 Principal/Superintendent $107,000

Blanford is the only administrator in the Elmwood District this year as the board decided not to hire a Middle School/High School Principal (grades 6-12) and instead use staff members to fill positions as Dean of Students, Athletic Directors and Assessment Coordinator. Blanford told the Herald it is in the district’s plans to hire a Middle School/High School Principal for next year. He also said salaries for next year have not yet been set.

Plum City

Mary Baier Superintendent/Elementary Principal $60,750

Baier is on a 60 percent contract, which has been the rule the last three years for this position after Mark Luebker left for Osceola at the end of the 2010-11 year. With benefits, Baier is earning $65,397 this year.

Paul Churchill MS/HS Principal/Transportation Director $94,802

Churchill is on a 100 percent contract. He will receive over $26,100 in benefits, which puts his total earnings at $120,900.


Roger Hulne Superintendent $124,503

Dave Vortherms High School Principal $97,000

Kyle Igou Assistant High School Principal/Athletic Director $75,000

Lyle Nolt Middle School Principal $95,095

Scott Halverson Elementary School Principal $98,820

Mark Inouye Director of Pupil Services $89,000

Spring Valley

David Wellington Superintendent $120,960

Gretchen Cipriano MS/HS Principal $98,598

Ken Lasure Elementary Principal $98,598

Wellington is retiring at the end of the year and is being succeeded by Donald Haack, now Spooner’s superintendent. Haack’s salary for next year is $135,000. Cipriano and Lasure’s salaries will remain the same.