Weather Forecast


Spring Valley High School senior awards presented

SPRING VALLEY--On May 14, approximately 200 people gathered at the Spring Valley High School Commons to recognize the accomplishments of the 42 students graduating as the SVHS Class of 2014.

The evening started with a catered dessert buffet, followed by scholarship and award presentations from various individuals, school and community organizations, local and regional businesses, and college tuition scholarship awards. Cole Snyder, Junior Class President, welcomed the guests with opening remarks. Gretchen Cipriano, Middle-High School Principal, acknowledged students entering the Armed Services, Technical Colleges, 4-year Universities and the Workforce.

The event was hosted by the Junior Class along with their advisors, Mrs. Jenny Boche and Ms. Donna Dawson.

A staggering dollar amount was awarded among the 17 students who completed the local scholarship application packet. Local scholarship funds in the amount of $30,000 were disbursed to students and another $7,000 regionally. The balance of $170,000 was awarded through college scholarship tuition awards and state awards.

In addition to the scholarships, awards were presented to students involved in school organizations including art club, FFA, forensics, vocal and instrumental music, science club, NOSB, student council, NHS, SPARK, Cardinal Care and the school play. Zac Webster and Tana O’Keefe were acknowledged as the 2014 scholar-athletes.

Outstanding students in each core academic and elective academic department received awards – Mathematics-Tana O’Keefe, Science-Claire Arneson, Social Studies-James Hannack, English-Tyler O’Keefe, Phy Ed-Health-Zac Webster, Technical Ed-Hunter Schutz, Agriculture-Trent Miller, Business Ed-James Hannack, Art-Sophia Koch and World Languages-Claire Arneson.

Seventeen students graduating with honors were recognized for their accomplishments – Valedictorians-Claire Arneson, Tana O’Keefe, Tyler O’Keefe; Salutatorian-Sophia Koch; and Honors Graduates-Bryan Bednarek, Nevada Schlegel, Trenton Miller, Apryl Behrens, Jayden Ottinger, Peter Wissink, Zachary Webster, James Hannack, Brianna Wyss. This group acknowledged outstanding educators, who were awarded medals of appreciation and handwritten cards.

Through the generosity of hundreds of donors, the opportunities for the graduates of Spring Valley High School seem endless! On behalf of the Spring Valley School District students, staff and administration, sincere appreciation goes to the individuals, organizations and businesses helping to fund the Spring Valley Scholarship Program each year, and to Mr. Brian Kirby for his prudence and foresight in establishing this worthwhile effort so many years ago!