Weather Forecast


Only one race set for Pierce County Board

April will be a lackluster election month for county-level offices in Pierce County.

Only incumbents are officially running for 14 of the 17 seats on the Board of Supervisors. A former board member is challenging one incumbent, and there is no formal candidate for an Ellsworth seat.

These are the candidates as of filing deadline at 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 7:

District 1: Incumbent Robert Mercord (City of Prescott, Wards 3, 4 and 5)

District 2: Incumbent LeRoy Peterson (City of Prescott, Ward 6; Town of Clifton, Wards 1, 2 and 3)

District 3: Incumbent Jon Aubart (Town of River Falls, Ward 3; City of River Falls, Ward 8)

District 4: Incumbent Ruth Wood (City of River Falls, Wards 5, 6 and 7)

District 5: Incumbent Cecil Bjork (City of River Falls, Wards 12 and 13)

District 6: Incumbent Michael Kahlow (City of River Falls, Wards 9 and 10)

District 7: Incumbent Scott Bjork (City of River Falls, Wards 11 and 14)

District 8: Incumbent Dean Bergseng (Town of Martell, Ward 2; Town of River Falls, Wards 1 and 2)

District 9: Incumbent Ken Snow (Town of Gilman; Town of Spring Lake, Ward 2; Village of Spring Valley, Wards 1 and 2)

District 10: Incumbent Jim Ross (Town of El Paso; Town of Rock Elm; Town of Spring Lake, Ward 1; Village of Elmwood)

District 11: No candidate. Incumbent Greg Place filed a declaration of non-candidacy. (Town of Ellsworth, Ward 1; Village of Ellsworth, Wards 2 and 3)

District 12: Incumbent Dale Auckland (Town of Ellsworth, Ward 2; Town of Martell, Ward 1; Village of Ellsworth, Wards 1 and 3)

District 13: Incumbent Dan Reis (Town of Oak Grove, Ward 3; Town of Trimbelle, Wards 1 and 2)

District 14: Incumbent L. Ronald Bartels, Bay City, is challenged by former board member Bill E. Schroeder, Hager City. (Town of Hartland; Town of Isabelle; Town of Trenton, Ward 2; Village of Bay City)

District 15: Incumbent Jerry Kosin (Town of Oak Grove, Ward 1; City of Prescott, Wards 1 and 2)

District 16: Incumbent Jeff Holst (Town of Diamond Bluff; Town of Oak Grove, Ward 2; Town of Trenton, Ward 1)

District 17: Newcomer Peter Pittman, Plum City, is running. Incumbent Mel Pittman, Plum City, filed a declaration of non-candidacy. (Town of Maiden Rock; Town of Salem; Town of Union; Villages of Maiden Rock and Plum City)

Judy Wiff

Judy Wiff has been regional editor for RiverTown’s Wisconsin newspapers since 1996. She holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism and sociology from UW-River Falls. She has worked as a reporter for several weekly newspapers in Wisconsin.

(715) 426-1049