Weather Forecast


Four contests for three school, one village posts in spring election

Four races have developed in three school districts and one village in this spring’s election throughout Pierce County.

Information obtained after Tuesday’s deadline for formalizing the village and school candidacies shows the Prescott, River Falls and Spring Valley school boards will have contests, along with the Village of Spring Valley.

Two candidates—Rich Maaske and Steve Sizemore—are seeking election to the one available seat on the Prescott School Board, becoming vacant with the departure of incumbent Tom Magnan. Mark A. Nippoldt, PhD., has joined incumbents Rich Gerczak and Stacy Johnson-Myers for the two seats available on the River Falls School Board. Andrew Johansen and Matthew Schreiber are competing with incumbents Mary Huepfel and Terry Miller, while Jim Green departs, for the three seats up in the Spring Valley School Board election.

Meantime, four candidates—incumbents Matt Huepfel, Dale Jacobson and Rich O’Connell plus challenger Robby Jaeger—are after the three available seats for the Spring Valley Village Board.

Elsewhere in the county where filings or declarations of candidacies are done, the number of candidates for each seat doesn’t exceed the number of open seats on any of the other village and school boards. However, a challenger has surfaced to take the place of a departing incumbent on the Plum City School Board.

With the ballots for the Tuesday, April 1, election in the county’s villages and schools now set, no primaries will be necessary.

Everyone pursuing election to the Ellsworth Village Board, Ellsworth School Board, Elmwood Village Board, Elmwood School Board, Plum City Village Board and Town of Trenton Board are incumbents with expiring terms.

The Villages of Bay City and Maiden Rock are holding caucus sessions this month instead of accepting filings or declarations of candidacy. Bay City’s caucus was conducted Wednesday and only the incumbents for the two available village board seats were nominated.

In addition to Maiden Rock’s incumbents, the names of all the candidates appearing on ballots for the rest of the positions around the county eligible for election this spring are (*denotes incumbent):

--BAY CITY, village board, Jerry Enevold*, Davis Niebeling*, two trustee seats.

--ELLSWORTH, village board, Richard J. Hines*, Michael J. Steele*, Richard Sweig*, three trustee seats; school board, Kurt Buckner*, Rick Kornmann*, two board seats.

--ELMWOOD, village board, Neil Boltik*, Susan Dzubay*, Rick Stohr*, three trustee seats; school board, Bernard Christman*, Brooke Glaus*, two board seats.

--MAIDEN ROCK, village board, Roger Erickson*, one trustee seat.

--PLUM CITY, village board, Kent Gilles*, Peggy Gilles*, two trustee seats; school board, Jeff Heit, Kurt Henn*, two board seats (Andy Wieser* departing).

--PRESCOTT, school board, Rick Maaske, Steve Sizemore, one at-large board seat (Tom Magnan* departing).

--RIVER FALLS, school board, Rich Gerczak*, Stacey Johnson-Myers*, Mark A. Nippoldt, PhD., two board seats.

--SPRING VALLEY, village board, Matt Huepfel*, Dale Jacobson*, Robby Jaeger, Rich O’Connell*, three trustee seats; school board, Mary Huepfel*, Andrew Johansen, Terry Miller*, Matthew Schreiber, three board seats (Jim Green* departing).

--TOWN OF TRENTON, town board, Randall John Christiansen*, fourth supervisor, Herbert Oberg*, third supervisor, two board seats.