Weather Forecast


Four Dems and a Republican run for open Assembly seat

LA CROSSE - Four Democrats and a Republican are running for a vacant state Assembly seat in La Crosse. They filed nomination papers before a deadline yesterday, in the hopes of replacing Democrat Jennifer Shilling. She moved to the Senate after defeating Republican Dan Kapanke in a recall election last month.

A primary for her former Assembly post will be held October 11th, and the general election is set for November eighth.

The Democratic candidates are La Crosse School Board President Christine Clair, county supervisor Jill Billings, arts center administrator David Krump, and Nick Charles - who ran for the seat as a Republican last year. The lone Republican this time is government watchdog David Drewes.