Weather Forecast


Primaries shape up for area, state seats

Area voters will be asked to vote in August primaries for a U.S. congressional seat and a seat in the Wisconsin Senate.

The Seventh Congressional District, which includes St. Croix County, will have primaries to select both Democratic and Republican candidates for the job now held by Sean Duffy.

In the Third Congressional District, which includes Pierce County, there will be a three-way primary to choose the Republican candidate to oppose Democratic incumbent Ron Kind, La Crosse.

In the State Senate District 31, which includes Pierce County, Republican voters will be asked to choose between Mel Pittman, Plum City, and Bill Ingram, Durand, to challenge Democratic incumbent Kathleen Vinehout.

Filing deadline for the state and federal positions was 5 p.m. June 2. The primaries will be Tuesday, Aug. 12. The General Election is Tuesday, Nov. 4.

Republican candidates in the Third Congressional District are Tony Kurtz, Prairie du Chien, Karen L. Mueller, Chippewa Falls, and Ken Van Doren, Mauston.

Democratic candidates for the Seventh District congressional seat are Mike Krsiean, Houlton, and Kelly Westlund, Ashland. The Republican candidates are incumbent Duffy, Wausau, and Don Raihala, Superior. Lawrence Dale, Eagle River, collected enough nominating signatures to be the Green Party candidate.

For more please read the June 11 print version of the Herald. 

Judy Wiff

Judy Wiff has been regional editor for RiverTown’s Wisconsin newspapers since 1996. She holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism and sociology from UW-River Falls. She has worked as a reporter for several weekly newspapers in Wisconsin.

(715) 426-1049