Weather Forecast


Yarwood, McLay and Webb win sectional titles, Panthers qualify 10 for state

Brady Webb won the WIAA Division 3 Independence-Gilmanton Individual Wrestling Sectional title with this pin of Glenwood City's Riley Knops.

Pierce County had two sectional champions in Divisions 2 and 3 of the WIAA Individual Wrestling Sectionals held Saturday. They also had a bushels full of state qualifiers, particularly from Ellsworth.

The No. 3 ranked Panthers qualified 10 wrestlers for next weekend's WIAA State Individual Wrestling Tournament out of the Division 2 Somerset Sectional.

The Panthers had two champions, D.J. Yarwood at 130 and Noah McLay at 160. Yarwood defended his sectional title form last year successfully after beating Maple Northwester's Nate Nelson in the finals 2-0. McLay won an exciting overtime match over Medford's Seth Higgins 3-1.

Taking second for the Panthers were Sam Huppert at 119, Roarke Langer at 125, Levi Kuesel at 145, Tanner Eggenberger at 152, and Nick Oeltjen at heavyweight. Placing third were Brent Stockwell at 112, Zach Reister at 140 and Parker Hines at 171. All but Huppert will be making their state tournament debuts next weekend.

Also taking second and qualifying for state in Division 2 was Prescott's Josh Farr. Farr made it to the finals before losing to Amery's Chad Bartschenfeld at 103.

Spring Valley-Elmwood will also be represented at state. Brady Webb won the sectional championship at 103 pounds in Division 3 at Osseo-Fairchild. He pinned all three opponents, including Glenwood City's Riley Knops, in 1:54 in the finals. Webb will be making his second straight appearance at the state meet.