Weather Forecast


T.J. Bray named State Player of the Year, Haffele is the Coach of the Year

T.J. Bray of Waukesha Catholic Memorial has been named the AP state boys' high school basketball player-of-the-year. Bob Haffele of Randolph is the coach-of-the-year.

Bray lost two of his grandparents this month, and he still led Catholic Memorial to the Division-Two state championship last weekend. He also turned down a number of scholarship offers so he could play next fall at Princeton, an Ivy League school that does not offer athletic scholarships.

Haffele received the coaching award after his Randolph team won the Division-Four crown and went 29-and-0. They also won a WIAA-record eighth overall title.

Joining Bray on the AP all-state first team is Vander Blue of Madison Memorial, Marquis Mason of Madison East, Ben Mills of Hartland Arrowhead, and Josh Gasser of Port Washington. All five players are seniors. Blue will play at Marquette next fall, Mason and Gasser at Wisconsin (although Mason is signed to play football) and Mills has signed with Boise State.