Weather Forecast


WISCONSIN SPORTS ROUND-UP: Green, Ruettgers chosen for Packer Hall of Fame

GREEN BAY - Ahman Green and Ken Ruettgers were named today as the newest members of the Green Bay Packers’ Hall of Fame.  They’ll be inducted July 19th, when the 44th annual Hall-of-Fame banquet takes place in the Lambeau Field Atrium. 

Green, who was traded from Seattle in 2000, is the Packers’ all-time rushing leader with 8,322 yards.   He also holds numerous other team records including the most all-purpose yards from scrimmage with 1,148, six thousand-yard rushing seasons, the single-season rushing mark with 1,883 yards in 2003, and the NFL’s second-longest run from scrimmage at 98 yards.  Green was also a four-time Pro Bowler.  He played eight seasons with Green Bay from 2000-through-2006, and again in ’09.  Ruettgers was the Packers’ first-round draft pick in 1985.  He played 12 seasons for the green-and-gold in 156 games.  Ruettgers was named the team’s offensive MVP in 1989.


The Milwaukee Bucks are tied with Utah for the fewest wins in the NBA with four apiece.  Milwaukee does have three fewer losses than the Jazz, but the Bucks still have the worst record in the Eastern Conference going into a game tonight at Chicago.  Milwaukee is 4-16.  Chicago is 8-10.  The Bulls have hit a bump in the road, after losing star guard Derrick Rose for the season.  Former Marquette guard Jimmy Butler has also missed nine games for Chicago with a toe injury – and Luol Deng sat out a 17-point loss to Detroit on Saturday with a bad Achilles.  Deng hopes to return tonight.  Taj Gibson had 21 points and 10 rebounds for the Bulls against Detroit.  Milwaukee is coming off a 90-82 home loss to Brooklyn on Saturday night.  Bucks’ front-liners Zaza Pachulia, Caron Butler, and Larry Sanders remain out with various injuries.  Guard O.J. Mayo had 22 points against the Nets, but he has slowed down a bit lately.  Mayo has averaged 16 points in his last seven contests, after averaging 27 in four games before that.


The University of Wisconsin women’s basketball team will face a tough challenge tonight when it hosts Gonzaga at the Kohl Center in Madison.  The Bulldogs are 7-1 with a five-game winning streak and are coming off a 96-47 rout over Portland State last Friday night.  They have three starters in double figures, led by senior guard Haiden Palmer with almost 17-and-a-half points and six-and-a-half rebounds per game.  Wisconsin has a two-game winning streak after beating Marquette by two on Saturday.  The Badgers are 6-2 under third-year coach Bobbie Kelsey.  Like the Zags, Wisconsin has three starters in double figures, led by fifth-year senior guard Taylor Wurtz with almost 15-and-a-half points and eight boards a night.  Also tonight, the UW-Green Bay men play at Western Michigan.


Milwaukee Brewers' left-hander Tom Gorzelanny has had surgery on his throwing shoulder.  Assistant general manager Gord Ash said the operation cleaned up the veteran's acromion bone.  Gorzelanny will not return until mid-March, but Ash says it's possible he can be ready for the start of next season.  Gorzelanny did not pitch after September second, due to a tight shoulder.  Ash said the Brewers were hoping that physical therapy would solve the problem -- but it didn't, so the operation was scheduled last week. Gorzelanny pitched in 43 games this year, including 10 starts.  He went 3-6 with a 3.90 ERA.  Gorzelanny is signed through 2014.  He was the only left-handed pitcher on the Milwaukee roster until Will Smith was traded from Kansas City last week for Norichika Aoki.


Alex Oman of UW-Stout and Kaitlyn Thill of Whitewater are the WIAC men’s and women’s basketball players-of-the-week.  Oman, a senior forward, scored 18-of-his-20 points in the second half in Stout’s five-point upset of then fourth-ranked Whitewater.  He also had 14 points off the bench in a victory over Superior. Thill, a senior guard, scored 20 points in Whitewater’s come-from-behind victory over Elmhurst College.  She also had nine points, 10 rebounds, six steals, and three assists in a 35-point rout of U-W Stout. The WIAC also recognized Corey Koop of Stout and Chloe Kinsel of River Falls in men’s-and-women’s hockey – John Devroy of Whitewater and Mikayla Beuch of La Crosse in swimming – Justin Bublitz and Tessa Kahring, both of La Crosse in diving – and Eric Twohey of La Crosse in wrestling.


The Milwaukee School of Engineering will induct nine athletes into its Hall-of-Fame.  Hockey standouts Brian Soik and Lee Swallow will be inducted at a banquet February 8th.  Also entering the hall are Scott Murphy and Jeff Mikos in basketball, Ryan Shefchik in wrestling, Chris Boardman and Benjamin Herrmann in men’s soccer, and Leah Leja in soccer and cross country.  Catherine Chappell, who starred in five sports for MSOE, will also be inducted.  She was a standout in basketball, track, cross country, soccer, and golf.