Weather Forecast


Schachtner defeats Jarchow in special election

WISCONSIN SPORTS ROUND-UP: New MU Prez wants role in men's hoops coaching seach

MILWAUKEE - New Marquette University  president Mike Lovell said Wednesday that he will quickly become involved in the search for a men's basketball coach.

The Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel reports that Marquette has several top academic positions to fill, including that of provost, and the school is still without a permanent athletic director. But Lovell said the basketball coach would be the first big hire. Lovell has three degrees from the University of Pittsburgh and was the associate dean of research at Pitt while Ben Howland coached the Panthers. Howland, who last coached at UCLA, is a candidate for the job. He has talked with Marquette about the position and is waiting for a response from the school. The search is expected to slow somewhat while Lovell becomes familiar with the candidates. Coach Buzz Williams resigned March 21 to become the new coach at Virginia Tech.


The University of Wisconsin men's basketball team battles the Baylor Bears tonight in the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Division I Tournament in Anaheim, Calf.   The second-seeded Badgers beat Oregon 85-77 in round three on Saturday to advance.  Wisconsin is one of three teams from the Big Ten Conference still alive in the Sweet 16 portion of the tourney.  The sixth-seeded Bears crushed Creighton 85-55 to move on.  The winner will face either top-seeded Arizona or fourth-seeded San Diego State in the Elite Eight on Saturday.  Tip off time is scheduled for 6:47 central time tonight at the Honda Center.


Tonight's NCAA Sweet 16 West Regional matchup between Wisconsin and Baylor features a clash of two temas that have never met, but both are no strangers to recent success in the NCAA Tournament. The Badgers have made six trips to the Sweet 16 since 2003. Only Duke (8), Kansas (8) and Michigan State (8) have more. Only 11 other teams have played in three Sweet 16s since 2010. Only six others besides Baylor remain in this year's field - Arizona, Florida, Kentucky, Louisville, Michigan State and Wisconsin. Only nine other teams have played in two Elite Eights in the last four years. If Baylor beats the Badgers it will be in the Elite Eight for the third time in five years.


Yovani Gallardo struggled in his final spring outing for the brew crew as Michael Brantley and Jason Kipnis drove in two runs apiece to send the Cleveland Indians to their 18th win of the spring, 10-2 over the Milwaukee Brewers on Wednesday. Gallardo will be the opening day starter when Milwaukee hosts Atlanta. It will be Gallardo's fifth opening day start. This final tuneup was Gallardo's sixth start of the spring. He came into the game with a 2.45 ERA in 18 1/3 innings. Gallardo pitched two innings and three batters into the third. He allowed four runs on six hits and four walks against the Indians.


Here are the NCAA Division I men's hockey pairings for the upcoming national tournament this weekend, including national top four seeds, dates and sites:

Saturday:  No. 1 Minnesota vs. Robert Morris, 4:30 p.m. (in St. Paul)

Saturday:  St. Cloud State vs. Notre Dame, 8 p.m. (in St. Paul)

Sunday:  Regional Final, 6:30 p.m. (in St. Paul)

Saturday:  Minnesota State-Mankato vs. Massachusetts-Lowell, 6:30 cp.m. (in Worcester, MA)

Saturday:  No.  2 Boston College vs. Denver, 6:30 p.m. (in Worcester, MA)

Sunday:  Regional Final, 4 p.m. (in Worcester, MA)

Friday:  No. 4 Wisconsin vs. North Dakota, 7 p.m. (in Cincinnati)

Friday:  Ferris State vs. Colgate, 3:30 p.m. (in Cincinnati)

Saturday:  Regional Final, 5:30 p.m. (in Cincinnati)

Friday: No. 3 Union vs. Vermont, 1p.m. (in Bridgeport, CT)

Friday:  Providence vs. Quinnipiac, 4:30 p.m (in Bridgeport, CT)

Saturday:  Regional Final, 2 p.m. (in Bridgeport, CT)



First team

x - Kevon Looney, 6-9, sr., F, Milwaukee Hamilton

x - Henry Ellenson, 6-10, jr., F, Rice Lake

x - Diamond Stone, 6-10, jr., F/C, Whitefish Bay Dominican

Sandy Cohen, 6-6, sr., G, Seymour

Riley LaChance, 6-2, sr., G, Brookfield Central

Second team

Trevor Anderson, 6-2, soph., G, Stevens Point

Brady Ellingson, 6-4, sr., G, Sussex Hamilton

Matt Heldt, 6-10, jr., C, Neenah

Jordan Shea, 6-4, sr., G, Lodi

Cam Ward, 6-2, sr., G, Marshall

Third team

D'Angelo Jackson, 6-4, sr., G, Racine J.I. Case

Paul Miller, 6-4, sr., G, Kettle Moraine

Jordan Perez, 6-4, sr., G, Greendale

Adam Pohlman, 6-0, sr., G, Neenah

Reed Timmer, 6-2, sr., G, New Berlin Eisenhower

Fourth team

Chandler Diekvoss, 6-6, sr., G, West De Pere

Sam Hauser, 6-5, soph., Stevens Point

Chris Howell, 6-4, sr., F, Milwaukee Rufus King

Kyle Monroe, 6-5, jr., G/F, Ashwaubenon

Darrlyn Willis, 6-7, sr., F, Madison Memorial

(x) - unanimous selection

Honorable mention

Blake Anderson, sr., Auburndale; Isaac Elliott, sr., Stevens Point Pacelli; Albert Goerlitz, sr., Owen-Withee; Luke Zuiker, sr., Marshfield; Aaron Nixon, sr., Mukwonago; Donovan Jackson, sr., Milwaukee Pius XI; Levi Bradley, jr., Milwaukee Pius XI; Darion King, jr., Racine J.I. Case; Romeo Bouie, jr., Racine St. Catherine's; Billy Wampler, jr., Eau Claire Regis; Luke Murphy, sr., River Falls; Alex Herink, sr., Hudson; Zac Doll, sr., Elk Mound; Kollin Neils, sr., Plymouth; Tyler Zastrow, sr., Sheboygan Lutheran; Josh Erickson, sr., Manitowoc Roncalli; Nate Neveau, sr., Oshkosh North; Charlie Noone, sr., Oshkosh Lourdes; Tyler DeYoung, jr., Central Wisconsin Christian; Elijah Goodman, sr., Brookfield Central; Jake Showalter, sr., Germantown; Evan Wesenberg, sr., Germantown; Anthony Carver, jr., Wisconsin Lutheran; Marcus White, sr., Milwaukee Vincent; Devante Jackson, sr., Brown Deer; Malik Clements, sr., Madison West; Nick McGlynn, jr., Stoughton; Turner Moen, sr., Lake Mills; Mark Nelson Jr., sr., Monona Grove; Nick Noskowiak, jr., Sun Prairie; Billy Bull, sr., Fall River; Ty Kartman, sr., Cassville; Alex Mortimer, sr., Richland Center; Isaiah Shell, sr., Albany; Trevor Wendhausen, sr., Mineral Point, Alex Hayden, sr., La Crosse Central; Dalton Soto, sr., Blair-Taylor; Nick Wagner, soph., Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau; Parker Weber, sr., La Crosse Aquinas; Matt Ferris, sr., Appleton Xavier; D.J. DeValk, sr., Little Chute; Cody Schwartz, jr., West De Pere; Nate Neveau, sr., Oshkosh North; Dakota Zinser, sr., Green Bay N.E.W. Lutheran; Cooper Radtke, sr., Oshkosh North.