Weather Forecast


WISCONSIN SPORTS ROUND-UP: Marlins edge Brewers 2-1

MIAMI, Fla. ( - After Miami and Milwaukee combined for a Marlins Park-record seven home runs in the series opener, the two teams were part of a pitchers' duel in the second matchup on Saturday.

Jacob Turner (1-2) tossed 6 1/3 scoreless innings, allowing eight hits and a walk to help the Marlins to a 2-1 win over the Brewers. Steve Cishek recorded the final four outs to nail down his 10th save of the season. Jarrod Saltalamacchia and Jeff Baker each knocked in a run for the Marlins, who have won three of their last four. Milwaukee starter Wily Peralta (4-4) was the tough-luck loser, allowing one run on six hits over six innings with five strikeouts.


Both UW-Whitewater baseball and softball teams were winners yesterday in their respective NCAA Division III world series tournaments. The Warhawk baseball team downed SUNY-Courtland 9-6 at Fox Cities Stadium in Appleton while the softball team staved off elimination by blanking East Texas Baptist 5-0 in Tyler, Texas. The UWW baseball team takes on the only other unbeaten team in the field, St. Thomas of St. Paul tonight at 8 p.m. while the Warhawk softball team faces Tufts today at 3:30 p.m.


The 98th running of the Indianapolis 500 takes place on Sunday, and it could very well be as thrilling as last year's race, which featured a record 64 lead changes among 14 drivers and moved at a blistering pace of 187.433 mph.Six drivers in the 33-car field have won the prestigious 500-mile race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in the past -- Helio Castroneves, Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Buddy Lazier, Juan Pablo Montoya and Jacques Villeneuve. In 2000, Montoya became the first driver in 34 years to win the Indy 500 in his first career start, but Montoya has not competed in this event since. Villeneuve has not raced in the Indy 500 since he won it in 1995. Lazier, who took the checkered flag at Indy in 1996, qualified 33rd for this year's race and is a very long shot to win it. Castroneves, who is Montoya's teammate at Team Penske, is attempting to win his fourth Indy 500, which would place him in a tie with A.J. Foyt, Al Unser and Rick Mears for most victories in this event. Castroneves is the last driver to win it from the pole position in 2009. He will start on the inside of row 2 in this race. Dixon, the defending IndyCar Series champion, won the Indy 500 in 2008. He will start on row 4, in between Montoya and Kurt Busch, who is attempting to become the first driver to do the Indy 500/Coca-Cola 600 double in a decade.






Miami 2, Milwaukee 1

San Francisco 2, Minnesota 1

Texas 12, Detroit 2

Chi. Cubs 3, San Diego 2

NY Yankees 4, Chi. White Sox 3 (F/10)

Midwest League


Beloit 4, Wisconsin 2




(In Appleton)


UW-Whitewater 9, SUNY- Cortland 6

St. Thomas of Minnesota 5, Baldwin Wallace 4


Emory 8, Linfield 5 (Linfield eliminated)

Southern Maine 6, Salisbury 3 (Salisbury eliminated)





UW-Whitewater 5, East Texas Baptist 0