Weather Forecast


SCVBL to host All-Star Game July 5 in New Richmond

NEW RICHMOND - The St. Croix Valley Baseball League will hold a league all-star game on Friday, July 5 at New Richmond’s Citizen’s Field. First pitch is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. and admission is free.'

All proceeds to benefit the Friends of Citizen’s Field Fund

It will be the first time the league has held an all-star game since 2009. New Richmond Millers manager and SCVBL treasurer Ryan Stephens and Spring Valley Hawks manager Erik Thompson have served as head organizers in reviving the tradition.

“There is such a high level of baseball played in SCVBL, we thought it was time to really put it on display and have a night where we celebrate small-town baseball,” Stephens said.

Of all the leagues in the 62-team Wisconsin Baseball Association, the SCVBL has truly thrived as of late. It has the most teams (13) and has taken home the last two WBA state baseball championships (Menomonie in 2012, River Falls in 2011). The league is just as passionate about fostering strong communities as producing strong baseball teams.

 “Our managers and players take a lot of pride in promoting the game of baseball and providing low cost entertainment for their communities. We see our role partly as trying to win baseball games, but just as importantly, as a matter of civic duty,” Thompson said.

Under the rules of the 2013 SCVBL All-Star Game, each team was asked to provide three players, four players if it included two pitchers. The game will be a regulation nine-inning game.

“Whether we play extra innings or not will depend on whether (MLB Commissioner) Bud Selig says it’s okay or not,” Stephens joked.

Citizen’s Field includes a covered grandstand with plenty of seating, though spectators are also welcome to bring a lawn chair. Full concessions will be available and no carry in food or beverage is allowed. Any proceeds after game expenses will be donated to the Friends of Citizen’s Field Fund.

All Star Game Rosters (subject to change)

North - Chad Melstrom, Darren Georgakas, Taylor Johnson, Tim Green, Hager City Skeeters; Hayden Zimmerman, Jon Will, Sean Conrad, Grant Nelson, New Richmond Millers; Nick Johnson, Dakota Belter, Aaron Rivard, Ryan Rivard, Osceola Braves; Brian Giebel, Joel Schaffer, Matt Walker, Rick Wells, River Falls Fighting Fish; Brandon Anderson, Brock Luehman, Brett Krull, St. Croix Falls Bandits; Brad Dufek, Dylan Willet, Lukas Hellman, Ryan Stangl, Spring Valley Hawks.

South – Chandler Flynn, Derek Ulvenes, Tim Eaton, Bay City Bombers; Cody Holden, Jake Betthauser, Lance Murphy, Britton Wolf, Ellsworth Hubbers; Adam Churchill, Jonah Lansing, Brett Keys, Jake Munkwitz, Elmwood Expos; Andy Edholm, Austin Booher, Paul Johnson, Hudson River Rats; Shawn Ingli, Chris Biederman, Kris Krueger, Plum City Blues; Billy Brookshaw, Mike Lytle, Ben Krings, Prescott Pirates.

Current SCVL Standings (as of June 26)

Eau Galle Division

River Falls                 6-1

Hudson                     3-2

Elmwood                   3-5

Spring Valley             0-9

Red Cedar Division

New Richmond          5-3

Menomonie               4-3

Osceola                     3-2

St. Croix Falls            1-4

St. Croix Division

Prescott                     7-1

Ellsworth                   6-3

Bay City                     5-3

Hager City                 4-5

Plum City                 1-7