Weather Forecast


VIDEO: Special Recognition Award goes to Randy and Susie Most

1 / 9
Special Recognition Award winner Randy Most was apologetic about closing Most Pharmacy as he accepted his award. He said closing the store was the only way he and wife Susie could retire. Sarah Nigbor / RiverTown Multimedia2 / 9
Those honored at the 2018 Prescott Area Chamber of Commerce 39th annual banquet included (from left) Educator of the Year Brian Koenig, Chamber Member of the Year Chad Steger, Ambassador of the Year Tara McCracken and Special Recognition Award winners Randy and Susie Most of Most Pharmacy. Sarah Nigbor / RiverTown Multimedia3 / 9
Most Pharmacy's Randy and Susie Most received the Prescott Area Chamber of Commerce Special Recognition Award Wednesday, Jan. 31 at the annual awards banquet, held at The Old Ptacek's Event Center. Sarah Nigbor / RiverTown Multimedia4 / 9
Prescott Chamber president Lisa Johnson promised (and joked) that chamber dinner attendees would be listening to her all night. Sarah Nigbor / RiverTown Multimedia5 / 9
Prescott High School Brian Koenig received accolades as the Educator of the Year at the Prescott Area Chamber of Commerce 39th annual awards banquet. Julie Moe presented the award. Sarah Nigbor / RiverTown Multimedia6 / 9
Chamber Member of the Year Chad Steger received his award from Chamber president Lisa Johnson at the Prescott Area Chamber of Commerce awards ceremony Wednesday, Jan. 31. Sarah Nigbor / RiverTown Multimedia7 / 9
Chamber Ambassador of the Year Tara McCracken (left) was heralded for her willingness to always pitch in, attend every event and her willingness to give by Chamber treasurer Julie Moe. Sarah Nigbor / RiverTown Multimedia8 / 9
Prescott Area Chamber treasurer Julie Moe (left) and president Lisa Johnson emceed the 39th annual Prescott Chamber dinner Wednesday, Jan. 31 at The Old Ptacek's Event Center. Sarah Nigbor / RiverTown Multimedia9 / 9

Attendees of the 39th annual Prescott Area Chamber of Commerce awards banquet Wednesday, Jan. 31 were moved to tears and bittersweet applause when Randy Most accepted the 2017 special recognition award.

Most and wife Susie operated Most Pharmacy in downtown Prescott for many years, along with many loyal staff members and family. They announced the pharmacy's closure in October. As Most spoke to the assembled crowd, the emotion was evident.

"I'm sorry it was such a bittersweet ending," Most said as he held his plaque. "It was terrible. But the only way to retire was to close the store."

He spoke of the fun he had hiring local high school students, giving many of them their first jobs.

"We couldn't have stayed open all these years without the community," Most said.

The event, held in The Old Ptacek's Event Center, featured a Mexican fiesta theme, complete with a nacho bar, tacos, enchiladas and margaritas.

Other awards bestowed included:

Ambassador of the Year: Tara McCracken

Chamber Member of the Year: Chad Steger

Educator of the Year: Prescott High School technology teacher Brian Koenig

New Chamber Member of the Year: Tim Skog of St. Croix Current

The 2018 Prescott Chamber Board of Directors, introduced by outgoing president Char Magee, is as follows:

President: Lisa Johnson, First National Bank

Vice President: Chad Steger, First National Bank

Treasurer: Julie Moe, WESTconsin Credit Union

Secretary: Trisha Huber

Directors: Char Magee, Noah Insurance Group; Phil Helgeson, Heywood, Cari & Anderson; Penny Peterson, Prescott Community Education; Amber Hanson, WESTconsin Credit Union; Tim Skog, St. Croix Current; and John Englund, BMO Harris Bank.

Sarah Nigbor

Sarah J. Nigbor serves as a regional editor for RiverTown Multimedia, a position she began in April 2017. She joined RiverTown Multimedia in October 2013 as a news reporter for the New Richmond News, before being appointed editor of the Pierce County Herald in February 2015. She graduated from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Spanish and French in 2001. She completed a minor in journalism in 2004. 

(651) 301-7881