Weather Forecast


Pierce County FSA County Committee elections begins

Pierce County Farm Service Agency will begin mailing ballots to eligible farmers and ranchers for the 2017 FSA County Committee elections Monday, Nov. 6. Producers must return ballots to the Ellsworth U.S. Department of Agriculture Service Center by Dec. 4 to ensure that their vote is counted.

"The 2017 Pierce County Committee election is held in Local Administrative Area #1. LAA#1 includes the townships of Clifton, River Falls, Martell, Gilman and Spring Lake", County Executive Director Aaron Moore explained.

The County Committee will open the ballots at 10 a.m. Dec. 6 at the Ellsworth USDA Service Center located at 412 W. Kinne St., Ellsworth.

Nearly 7,700 FSA County Committee members serve FSA offices nationwide. Each committee has three to 11 elected members who serve three-year terms of office. One-third of County Committee seats are up for election each year. County Committee members apply their knowledge and judgment to help FSA make important decisions on its commodity support programs, conservation programs, indemnity and disaster programs, emergency programs and eligibility.

Producers must participate or cooperate in an FSA program to be eligible to vote in the County Committee election. Farmers and ranchers who supervise and conduct the farming operations of an entire farm, but are not of legal voting age, also may be eligible to vote.

Farmers and ranchers will begin receiving their ballots the week of Nov. 6. Ballots include the names of candidates running for the local committee election. Voters who did not receive a ballot can pick one up at the Ellsworth FSA office. Ballots returned by mail must be postmarked no later than Dec. 4. Newly elected committee members will take office Jan. 1, 2018.